ECHO

THE STAIRCASE
I close my eyes to sleep,
and what do I see?
The staircase from my past.
The stairs from my
elementary school.
I can hear children’s voices
as they run up the stairs to classes.
I can hear their shouts
as they run down to the basement...

 

THE STAIRCASE

I close my eyes to sleep,

and what do I see?

The staircase from my past.

The stairs from my

elementary school.

I can hear voices

as the children run up the stairs.

to their classes.

I can hear their shouts

as they run down

to the basement for lunch.

I can’t see their faces.

I only hear their voices.

All I can see is the empty staircase.

The lone echo of my childhood.

 

Leave a Reply

