THE INN

 

I hear voices from inside.

Laughter and cheering.

Clinking of glasses.

Sailing forth on

the silence of the night.

I hasten my steps.

I open the heavy door

and peer inside.

An empty room faces me.

No one in sight.

I step inside.

I can hear the voices.

The laughter.

I squint through the darkness.

A light shines on the tables,

where figures are drinking.

Transparent forms of people,

who once inhabited this inn.

They will laugh and be merry

until the end of time.

I raise my glass to them.

Leave a Reply

